Our teaching system

All teachers of Iyengar yoga are trained to very high standards and are fully insured. They have undergone a rigorous training programme, taken over many years, with practical and written exams in anatomy and yoga philosophy and the theory of teaching. This standard of excellence is maintained through the annual Professional Development Days, organised by the IY(UK) Ltd. This is part of the reason why Iyengar yoga is one of the most widely performed methods of yoga worldwide. When you see the Iyengar yoga Certification Mark it is a guarantee of excellence, clarity and depth of understanding in our teachers.

What our teachers’ qualifications mean

You will notice that our teachers call themselves Introductory Teachers, Intermediate Teachers or Senior Teachers (if they don’t – ask them!). This means:

Introductory teachers

The Introductory Teaching Certificate is the first rung on the Iyengar teaching system. There are two levels – students obtain their Teaching Certificate after passing their final year. To become an Iyengar yoga teacher, students have to attend classes with a qualified teacher for at least three years before they can apply for selection onto a two-year Iyengar Yoga Training Course. After successfully completing this course and passing two practical and two written exams on teaching students and on anatomy and physiology, teachers can teach general students and those with minor problems.

Intermediate teachers

There are three levels. Each level is progressive and enables the teacher to progress to more advanced postures and a deeper understanding of their teaching. With their Intermediate Certificate, teachers can also apply to become Teacher Trainers and Assessors. They are qualified to teach students with minor problems.

Senior teachers

A Senior Level 3 teacher is the highest certificate awarded in the UK. Again, there are three levels. Senior Level 3 teachers can teach students and teachers of all abilities and medical conditions. They are also qualified to become Moderators, Assessors and Teacher Trainers.

All teachers have to hold an up to date first aid certificate.